Meal Planning

Snacking Smoothies

Goodness, my boys are not even teenagers yet but they eat as much if not more then Justin and I! They are eating machines when the afternoon hits. By 1:30 pm, I am constantly hearing I’m hungry, I’m hungry until we sit down for dinner. In the past, I used to give the boys fruit snacks, cereal (if it had loads of sugar they loved it) or crackers/chips. Well, since I started my diet lifestyle change a few months back, all that junk had to go. It really is a good thing. I’ve started researching what the ingredients actually are in some of that stuff and it is DISGUSTING!!  I needed to come up with a new go-to snack idea. I have been seeing smoothies all over Pinterest, so I thought I’d give it a try. Guess what? The boys LOVE them!! (cue the angels singing HALLELUJAH!) I have tried several different “recipes” but this one that I made seems to work the best and it is extremely versatile. I just use whatever fruit I have handy.

½ c spinach

1 c Kefir (Aldi’s sells strawberry and blueberry flavored)

1 banana

1 scoop protein powder (we use both chocolate and vanilla)

1 ½ c fruit (apples, oranges, kiwi, berries, mango, cantaloupe, or pineapple)

Put it all in a blender and POOF your done and enjoy!

This gives me enough for 2 small glasses for Caleb and myself, and 2 toddler glasses for Xander and Wes. Now that it is getting warmer, I’ve also been doubling the batch and  freezing some in pop-cycle molds. Now we have dessert ready too. The fruit mixture the boys like the best so far is berries and kiwi or mango, pineapple, and cantaloupe. The skies the limit with this, so don’t be afraid to be creative.

Just look at those cute smoothie mustaches! 😉

What are some go to healthy snacks you love to feed your hungry kiddos?

Happy Learning.

 

Leave a Reply

