Average Day

Board Game Scavanger Hunt

As many of you know we have been battling a lot of illnesses around here lately. Last week it was my turn at the flu and WOW, it was hardcore. Thankfully (well sort of) it happened over a week we were already scheduled off.  I had originally planned several field trips for us, however, with the flu I barely was getting out of bed. My husband even had to take time off of work to help with the kids. That was such a blessing, however. The way my husbands work schedule is right now he doesn’t get much one-on-one time with the boys without me being there. He was awesome because he really stepped up and did alot of activities with the kids, got laundry done, made meals, and didn’t have the house look like a bomb went off (I can’t even do that on a daily basis). One activity they did which I was fortunate enough to jump in on was the board game scavenger hunt.  Here’s how it works:

First, every player picks out one board game they would like to play. Our only rule was it had to be something everyone could join in on. Between the 5 of us we ended up with Temple Run, Candy land, Shark Mania, Carmen Sandiego Jr, and Monopoly. Justin and I hide each game somewhere around the house with a clue in it that would lead to the next game. You had to play the game all the way through before you were able to get the next clue. Here is how it played out for us:

First clue: YOU CAN WARM HOT CHOCOLATE IN ME. 

Temple Run Danger Chase Board Game

 

Temple Run was hiding in the microwave.

Second clue: CALEB SLEEPS ON TOP OF ME; WELL SORT-OF

https://i2.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51DqiAbQJQL._AA160_.jpg

Candy Land was hiding in a drawer under Caleb’s bed.

Third clue: I AM HANGING OUT WITH DAD’S CLOTHES

https://i1.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/513RSD35DWL._AA160_.jpg

Carmen Sandiego was in Dad’s closet.

Fourth clue: YOU PLAY MINECRAFT WITH ME

https://i0.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/612O+oUAkjL._AA160_.jpg

Shark Mania was on top of the X-box in the playroom

Fifth clue: I’M FEELING ARTISTIC. GOOD THING THERE ARE CRAYONS AND MARKERS ALL AROUND

https://i2.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51b1psktX1L._AA160_.jpg

Monopoly was hiding in our school supply cabinet.

Basically, it was just a fun little twist that we added to playing board games. We took a couple breaks between a few of the them; which I was grateful for.  It did take the entire day but the boys were still talking about it when we put them to bed that night. I guess you could say it was a success =)

Happy Learning Everyone!

Leave a Reply

