Uncategorized

Saying Good-Bye to Munchkin

My baby sister and best friend is moving away in 2 weeks. Michelle, or Munchkin as I have called her since childhood, went on her first medical missions trip 3 years ago and fell in love with missions. She is moving 5 hours away to attend Bethany Global University in MN to study missionary work. I am so proud of her and where she has come in her life. I would not have believed you if you told me years ago she would be doing this. Michelle was in a dark, dark place and very lost. It has been a privilege to watch God work and bring her out of that bleak hole to where she is now. It is because of her relationship with Christ that she constantly motivates and enlightens me.

When she first told us she was going to MN, I was excited for her because it is so clear that she is following God’s plan. On the flip side, I was also heartbroken and scared. We have seen each other through our best and worst of times. She is the only person besides my husband, who really knows the true inner me and still sticks around. Our brother, Sean, had moved away to Colorado 5 years ago. With Michelle leaving, I started to feel extremely lonely and like I’m being left behind. There was a lesson I needed to learn from her moving.

I have been hearing the question… who is my constant comforter and confidant? It is great to have family and friends to turn to for support but there is One who you need to go to first. JESUS! I was foolish to think with her leaving, I was going to be alone.

Isaiah 41:10: So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

I have been reminded yet again that life takes unexpected turns.  The Lord wants to be there with us through all of it. He wants to hear about my joy and pride I have for Michelle in her following her passion. He also wants hear about the sadness and fear I now have in her leaving. Whether it is a valley or a mountain that we find ourselves in, He wants to be apart of it.

1 Peter 5:7 – Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

Munchkin – I am so PROUD of you and LOVE you to pieces. Thank you for being my friend who again taught me something I was not expecting to learn. Your light for Jesus is contagious and I am very excited for your new journey to begin. XOXOXO

Leave a Reply

